Poker88: The 47th annual edition of the World Series of Poker

By | Februari 24, 2021

Time for Main Event or No. 68 on your schedule. However you want to call it, this is the 47th annual edition of the World Series of Poker, which takes place this Saturday at 10am in Rio.

The buy-in was $ 10,000 with the field finally reduced to the final 9, which returned in November to fight for a prestigious gold bracelet and become a multi-millionaire. The event, which began at Binion’s in 1970, attracted nearly 110,000 players from 110 countries and awarded prize money of over $ 210 million.

Last year’s champion was Joe McKeehen of Philadelphia, who at 24 defended his recent streak of under 30s. McKeehen led the wire to wire at the final table to catch his first WSOP gold bracelet playing Poker88 and a top prize of $ 7,683,346 in the richest game and most prestigious event.

McKeehen used his chip advantage throughout, constantly exerting pressure on his opponents and aiding them in destruction time and time again. He ended the game in July by eliminating famed professional Daniel Negreanu in 11th place, then went on to beat the 10th, 9th, 8th, 7th, 4th, 3rd and 2nd ranks on his way to poker’s top crown.

With that win, McKeehen, despite his young age, has now won nearly $ 11 million playing poker for a living.

Johnny Moss won successive titles in 1970, 1971 and then a third championship in 1974. The late Stu Ungar then garnered successive victories in 1980 and 1981. He continued it with a third title in 1997. Johnny Chan also won back. back in 1987 and 1988.

The list of famous pros who have won the WSOP Main Event includes Phil Hellmuth (1989), Scotty Nguyen (1998), Carlos Mortensen (2001), Chris Moneymaker (2003), Jamie Gold (2006) and Jonathan Duhamel (2010). 2014 winner Martin Jacobson took home a record $ 10 million for his win at the main event.

In recent years, the prize pool for the WSOP Main Event has become so large that the winner instantly becomes one of the top cash winners in a poker tournament. Gold, with its 2006 win, is 8th on the list; Joe Hachem (2005) is 10th and Peter Eastgate (2008) is 11th.